Teacher with bipolar disorder

I rarely post links to articles in the press, but as a teacher myself this story was important to me. Last year, beginning meds and therapy, I had almost 9 months off work. Since I returned to my teaching job at the end of last July I haven’t had a single day off. This is the result of great effort (and a lot of stubbornness) and I feel proud to have achieved what I have done. I’ve had little or no support from Management, including seldom if ever being asked how I am and if they can help in any way. I’m certain if I had my arm in a sling or a foot in plaster they’d be falling over themselves to assist. But of course you can’t (usually) see bipolar… so evidently – to them – it doesn’t really exist.

http://www.walesonline.co.uk/news/wales-news/teacher-bipolar-disorder-been-awarded-12519829

 

 

One comment on “Teacher with bipolar disorder

  1. I am glad you were able to battle through the dark storms of bipolar and return to work. I am bipolar 2 and do not have a job to go back to. It was just recently I got to a point where the rapid cycling stopped. Now, I do not know what my purpose is other than a couple online classes that start in March.

Leave a Reply

